PDA

View Full Version : is there anything like MAVNI in marines????

vic1000
07-07-10, 01:22 AM
hi there, im a foreign student studying in US.
joining the marines is the very thing that i wanted for my ife.
however, im barricated by the indentity requirements
im not a us citizen, and dont have a green card.
is there any possibility that i can enlist the marines?

as i know, there is a program called MAVNI in army through which one can enlist the army after staying in US legally for 2 years.

is there anything in Marine like this MAVNI program??
i don't want army because i do want to become a marine, the few, the proud, right? lol.:)
thanks

WXSgt
07-07-10, 10:28 AM
Have you researched at all about the MAVNI program? It only applies to people with critical skills needed. here is a link for some info on the program http://www.visapro.com/Immigration-Articles/?a=1350&z=29

I'll look it up some more and get back to you but i would need to know where you are from and any skills you have.

WXSgt
07-07-10, 10:53 AM
http://www.ice.gov/doclib/sevis/pdf/mavni_faq_111009.pdf

No the USMC does not have this program(this is a DOD program) I was looking further into it and realized we do not have physicians so cant do that and our linguists are required to have top secret clearances and be a US citizen so again that precludes you. sorry to tell ya

tdrt
07-07-10, 02:12 PM
You need to have a valid green card.

Rocky C
07-07-10, 02:16 PM

as i know, there is a program called MAVNI in army through which one can enlist the army after staying in US legally for 2 years.

i don't want army because i do want to become a marine, the few, the proud, right? lol.:)
thanks

No there isn't..........Sorry.

vic1000
07-07-10, 09:16 PM
Have you researched at all about the MAVNI program? It only applies to people with critical skills needed. here is a link for some info on the program http://www.visapro.com/Immigration-Articles/?a=1350&z=29