PDA

View Full Version : My Dogtags

boomer56328
05-28-10, 04:36 PM
When I was in the fleet I had several sets of dogtags I wore, but there was one set I always wore to the field. That set was the set I wore while I was in Afghanistan and then Iraq. Anyway, I'm now a cop here in my hometown and I have worn those same set of dogtags under my vest every shift for the last 6 years, ever since I started this job. I don't consider myself a superstitious person and don't really believe in luck, but last night I couldn't find my dogtags. I went to my wife and asked her about them. She told me that she saw my 3 year old son, Eli, playing with them. I'm not joking, I freaked out. I was searching frantically for them, couldn't get ready until I found them, even got mad at her for letting him play with them (like it was her fault). I had never let on to her that they meant that much to me, in fact I'm not sure I realized it until I couldn't find them. I was about to call in to work and take the night off because I couldn't find a set of dogtags. Anyway I found them and got to work just in time. Now my wife is mad at me because of the way I nutted out on her and I really don't blame her, she didn't deserve that. My question is, I guess, is if anyone has something from their time in service that they hold on to and would react like that if they lost it.

Rocky C
05-28-10, 05:45 PM
My Dog Tags Also.
Been on my Key Ring for almost 30 years.......

Semper Fi,
Rocky

Sgt Jim
05-28-10, 06:09 PM
Still have a dog tag and John Wayne on my key ring.

linda1945
05-28-10, 07:16 PM
I have one of mine on my key ring and it stays in my purse all the time!!

Sgt Leprechaun
05-28-10, 11:49 PM
Still have a JW on my keyring and wore the SAME dog tag in my boot since at least 1997. AND I was the same way, wore my 'duty' set as a LEO until I left the street.

So no, you ain't crazy. And I don't blame you.

Quinbo
05-29-10, 12:13 AM