PDA

View Full Version : How to tell my parents i want to go active

Caesar Augustus
09-10-03, 07:55 PM
I was going into the reserves because I was going to go to college and go thru the PLC so when I got my degree I would get commisioned and yet have experience as an enlisted Marine. But I have decided that I want to go active b/c I believe it will be better in the long run. I still have every plan on going to college because my goal is to become a Marine JAG. I just want to experience active duty first and then go reserves and get my degree. So what I'm asking is if you have any ideas on how I could inform my parents of my decision seeing how I will need their consent. They had no problem consenting to reserves but they may balk at me going active.
Any help is appreciated

Caesar

top1371
09-10-03, 08:17 PM
Any recruiters out there that can throw in 2 cents on this one? My brain is a little rusty, being off recruiting for 8 years, but if he is doing a component change I wouldnt think he would need to get another PC. (?)

As for the parents, you already sold them on the Marines, but as for the active side you might think about telling them about all the educational benifits.

Tuition in the active Corps is now 100%, plus you can sign up for the MGIB to use later. Some of your active training can transfer into college credit also.

firstsgtmike
09-10-03, 08:20 PM
Read the posts in both Poolee Forums.

They will provide a wealth of information for you.

The first and most logical "argument" that comes to my mind is: "Who will be paying for your college education, your parents or the Government under the G.I. Bill?"

ALSO, you will benefit more and get a better college education by attending as a 21 year-old Marine, than as a 17 year- old.

Read the forums, get the facts to back up those two truths.

If you can't win with those arguments, try crying. It worked for my niece.

Caesar Augustus
09-10-03, 08:32 PM