PDA

View Full Version : Hello

seiko
05-04-10, 02:53 AM
First off I want to say that I am 24 years old and really thinking about a enlisting into the Marines. I am in a unhealthy life style right now and I am not happy with it. I want to do something worth while with my life and serve my county. I am Out of shape. I will loose some weight before I meet up with the recruiter, and so Boot Camp wont be hell and I end up Quitting. I Graduated High school in 2004, I have very bad grades in high school but enough to get my Ged. When i was in High school I did ask the recruiter when he came to my school if I can enlist and i couldn't because i take pills for Adhd. Resently I stop taking my pills and I am in control of my life and my ADHD without medicine.

I googled "Can I enlist into the marines at 24 years old" and i found a topic about this other guy that was also 24 years old but had Glasses and didn't know if he could enlist. So i know it's possible that i can enlist at age 24. I would like your Advise and Wisdom before meeting the Recruiter.

Greg

(Sorry for the misspelling and grammer sentences)

Barr
05-04-10, 03:05 AM
Based on what I know the answer is predominantly "no". You will definitely need to have a psych exam, and you can have taken any adhd pills in the last year.

Next, the Marine Corps is looking for reasons to get rid of people, not recruit them. They don't want to have someone out of shape enlist. Get in shape, big time.

Finally, the big thing that will not let you enlist. You need a high school diploma to get in, OR a GED and at least 15 college credits.

tdrt
05-04-10, 07:35 AM
Agree with Barr.

1) You must have 15 college credits in addition to your GED.
2) While you getting those credits, get your ass in shape.

Good job getting off the meds and taking control of your life! You don't need them. They're just a crutch.

You have time to do this!

JWDevilDog
05-04-10, 09:06 AM