PDA

View Full Version : Reserve Bonuses

BigWayne3000
05-03-10, 06:59 AM
Whats up Marines. I'm in the reserves currently and in June 2012 my obligation to drill is over and I drop to the IRR. I am contemplating whether or not to reenlist right away or not. I was trying to find any information on what bonuses are available to reenlist. I found this thru a google search:

http://www.usmc.mil/news/messages/Pages/MARADMIN0378-09.aspx

Are these bonuses only for active duty Marines or do these bonuses apply across the board? I realize things can change in the course of the next 2 years but I'm just trying to get a rough idea of what is available to those wanting to reenlist. Also, how hard is it to do a lat move in reenlisting? I'm currently an 0621 radio operator. If given the chance I would love to do a lat move but how difficult is this? Any help any of you can provide is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

hussaf
05-03-10, 07:35 AM
Well don't worry about reenlistment until its 2012. Bonuses are MOS-dependent which is filtered through Marine Corps needs and retention levels. Reserve bonuses are pretty minuscule compared to active duty counterparts. I reenlisted for a full-reserve bonus and got something like $15,000 (tax free). From what I understand that was around the highest reenlistment bonus for reserves at that time but is no longer being offered to my MOS. So it fluctuates. Better would be to continue as a no-obligatory reservist and just drill without signing a new contract. If you sign a contract and get a bonus you owe the Marine Corps that money if you get out early....and more than likely your Bn will not let you IUT and/or lat-move.