PDA

View Full Version : Question about college in the reserves

Hurricanes24
04-30-10, 07:38 PM
I have wanted to be a Marine for as long as i can remember. Being sixteen and a teenager I do fantasise about being in Force Recon or a Scout/Sniper, but thinking more realistically I realise my chances are slim. I'm a sophomore in high school and I've been thinking alot about college. I was talking to a recruiter and he said I could get a degree through the Marine Reserves. My father believes I should join the National Guard, but my stepfather says active duty. Both have over 20 years in the Airforce and Army. I would like to know if going to college through the Marines has any advantages over the Guard. I've tried searches and have had little luck. Thank you for your time.

Dragonscript
05-02-10, 07:54 PM
Many Reserve Marines i know go to college as well. Most reserve units try to schedule their AT, Active Time, during the summer between college semesters. Most colleges work with the Reserves to help them out as best they can. If you want college and the Marine Corps, it does go well together.

Hurricanes24
05-02-10, 09:12 PM
Do you know the likelihood of being deployed while on reserves? If I were to be deployed mid-semester what would happen? Would my grades be put on hold or would I be failed? And thank you.

Dragonscript
05-03-10, 10:48 AM
The chances of getting deployed? With a standard contract, without asking to be deployed, is ~90%. Expect to be deployed sometime. My unit always has people on deployment, but next year we expect to deploy as a unit for the third time since 2001, this will be my first deployment with them.