PDA

View Full Version : medical waiver?

jsboat
04-26-10, 07:29 AM
I am wondering what my chances are of receiving a medical waiver. I am a testicular cancer (germ cell tumor) survivor and I was born with only one kidney. I've had all the tests in the book run on my kidney and since it is larger than normal is more than covers the workload for both kidney. Based on the type of cancer and the time without relapse I have a better chance of dying in a car accident than relapsing. I have extensive documentation and letters for both.

I am a highly qualified musician (I play a 'critical need' instrument) with a bachelors and masters degree and I am in good physical shape. No matter what, I am still going to try to get it pushed through but I was interested in hearing the thoughts of some Marines.

At this point, I know the Navy says that one kidney is permanently disqualifying but they have a set of instructions on how to get a medical waiver for having one kidney... maybe the same for the Marine Corps?

In a few months I will be beyond the two year waiting period required after finalization of treatment for germ cell tumors so I don't imagine this would be too difficult.

Any thoughts?

TinDragon
04-26-10, 07:32 AM
Waivers are pretty hard to come by nowadays, since we're overfull. You sound pretty dedicated though, put enough effort into it and you could probably get one.

Lisa 23
04-26-10, 07:42 AM
How about filling out all of your profile so the Marines who are going to answer your questions, know who they are talking to. :thumbup:

jsboat
04-26-10, 07:52 AM
How about filling out all of your profile so the Marines who are going to answer your questions, know who they are talking to. :thumbup:

Thank you for the tip. There's a bit more info in there now.

Lisa 23
04-26-10, 07:57 AM
Kidney.

(1) Current absence of one kidney, congenital (753.0) or acquired (V45.73) is disqualifying.