PDA

View Full Version : Some Reserve Questions

Bridgeburner
04-07-10, 08:51 PM
Good evening Marines,

I'm a college student looking into enlisting in the USMCR. The USMCR unit I would hope to be assigned to (as it is the closest), is the 3/25 Marines. They are slated for deployment sometime this year. Unfortunately, that means that upon completion of Boot Camp and SOI, my unit would be in the middle of their deployment.

What would that mean for me? Would I be able to volunteer for a deployment with another unit while my unit is deployed? (I found this thread here: http://www.leatherneck.com/forum/showthread.php?t=94750 that deals with volunteering for deployments as a reservist, but doesn't mention anything about being assigned to a currently deployed unit).

Or would I be shipped off to the unit while in country? Or would I remain home at the reserve center?

Thank you for your time,

Bridgeburner

Lisa 23
04-07-10, 09:14 PM
First of all, have you even talked with a recruiter or taken the ASVAB test yet? Do you have any weight to lose, or have any medical or criminal problems that may require a waiver?
While it's great to want to know all of this, take it one step at a time.

Bridgeburner
04-07-10, 09:38 PM
First of all, have you even talked with a recruiter or taken the ASVAB test yet? Do you have any weight to lose, or have any medical or criminal problems that may require a waiver?
While it's great to want to know all of this, take it one step at a time.

Yes I've spoken with a recruiter. As far as ASVAB, I took the practice one at the recruiting station. I got a score in the mid 90s (I believe that was just a percentage correct of the practice questions; not sure how good of a gauge that is of my actual score). I'm well within weight standards, no medical or criminal problems. I have not taken a PFT or anything like that yet, but I'd guess I'd score around 230 or so.