PDA

View Full Version : MCO 1130.80A am I reading this right?

Wannabe Retread
03-27-10, 05:32 AM
Good day to all. This is my first time posting a thread. I'm a prior service Marine hoping to get back in. Assuming that I qualify, what are my options? I will go back to my old MOS (3533) until I can Lat move. According to this order, I can re-enlist in the Marine Corps under the FTAP program until I'm 39 years old. I'm currently 32 and served 4 years active duty in the Marines. Can someone tell me if I'm reading this right?

Thank you

Semper Fi

Supersquishy
03-27-10, 06:00 AM
Good day to all. This is my first time posting a thread. I'm a prior service Marine hoping to get back in. Assuming that I qualify, what are my options? I will go back to my old MOS (3533) until I can Lat move. According to this order, I can re-enlist in the Marine Corps under the FTAP program until I'm 39 years old. I'm currently 32 and served 4 years active duty in the Marines. Can someone tell me if I'm reading this right?

Thank you

Semper Fi

Are you wanting AD or Reserves? Get a hold of a recruiter; From my understanding going back in AD is pretty hard right now, the Marines are full.

Reserves might be your best bet right now, then transfer over to AD in a year or two. You can lat move depending on the the Unit needs if you decide to go reserves. I would get a hold of a PSR(Prior Service Recruiter) in your area and be on him like stink on Sh1t until you get back in.

never the less get a hold of a Recruiter!

What platoon were you with in Boot Camp?

Wannabe Retread
03-27-10, 06:03 AM
Thanks for the reply. I was in 1020 in the Big Red ONE. I want to go active. I will wait a year if I have to. I have a job right now, but since I've been out, I've felt that urge in my stomach to be back in. Civilian life is NOT the same.

Supersquishy
03-27-10, 06:26 AM