PDA

View Full Version : Lingusitics

JWDevilDog
03-14-10, 06:59 AM
Greetings Marines,

I did a perusal of this site to try to find some of the information I was looking for, but was unable to really get my questions answered.

I will soon do a lat-move, probably to 2674 or 2676. Well, let me put it this way. I wish to be a linguist, and would prefer to learn German at the DLI, but I understand that whatever the Marine Corps needs of me is what I will learn.

My question is this: I have spent quite a bit of time at the DLI website as well as here, and have found that sometimes Marines get to put in a wish list of top three languages they wish to study, and that sometimes prior experience in a language is taken into consideration. I have no experience in German, but am willing to take up Rosetta Stone for about six months or so to get familiar with the basics.

What I wish to know is if I learn the basics of German, and can demonstrate a bit of competency in the language, how much consideration will be given to me in determining my language? I understand that the language we get is also based partially on when classes are to start.

I guess what I'm really asking is how likely am I to get assigned the language of my choice, given some basic understanding of the language? Also, is German considered a Western European language (2674) or an Eastern European language (2676)?

Also, I took the DLAB before boot camp (over two years ago), and passed, although barely, with a 104. Should I need to re-take it since it has been so long?

Thank you for you time in reading my post, Marines.

TinDragon
03-14-10, 08:37 AM
That's a first, never actually seen someone asking about German before. I'd say you've got about as much chance of getting that as your language with prior language skills as you do without it, which is to say, not very likely either way. Pretty sure you do get to put in a wishlist though. Throw it on there, it can't hurt.