PDA

View Full Version : USMC Reserve Questions

meep
02-17-10, 02:20 AM
Hello Marines, my background is that I am a 25 y/o male with a college degree and I work in law enforcement. I am interested in the USMC Reserves. I have yet to contact a recruiter because I know how much of a pain in the ass it can be with them.

I just have some general questions that maybe some of you can help me answer.

1.) How do you promote in the reserves? Question being is that since I have a degree and enlist, I was told that I would come out of basic as an E-3. What would the time line be to promote to E-4 and above? I know the reserves is quirky as compared to active duty.

2.) The reason I am considering the reserves is because I want to deploy and serve my country. I am not where I want to be in my LE career yet and being a veteran would help me out alot as well. However, I am choosing the reserves instead of OCS because I want to deploy now while the war is still going on and I dont want to go through the motions only to have Afghanistan come to a halt before I can deploy. With the way the current President is talking about the war on terror it seems he is more then willing to pull out in a years time.

3.) There are several reserve units in my area (new england) that have weapons platoons. My goal would be to become an 0311 and delploy either with them or with an A/D unit.

What are your thoughts? Thank you.

josephd
02-17-10, 03:51 AM
1.) you will not graduate as an E-3 unless you are the company honor man which takes more than your degree to achieve. Promotions in the reserves are the same as active duty but a bit harder to pick up because as a reservist you are not always as squared away as you should be. But if its anything like our company, a lot of meritorious promotions will be done.