PDA

View Full Version : enlistment bonuses?

wdshea
02-16-10, 11:30 PM
I already have my heart set on joining the marines. Although I went ahead and Googled 'marine enlistment bonuses'. Not that I need an incentive, but I wouldn't mind a little something extra. There are a few MOS's that interest me, and coincidentally it seems there are bonuses associated with them.

This is the link I first looked at:
http://www.mfr.usmc.mil/join/bonus.asp

Then I went here to see more details:
http://www.marines.mil/news/messages/Pages/MARADMIN008-10.aspx

My recruiter is telling me that there are not any bonuses offered to active duty or reservists. I was hoping ya'll could give me a second opinion.

I appreciate any feedback.

Sgt Leprechaun
02-17-10, 01:14 AM
The first link is for the reserves.

So is the second.

So unless you are planning on a Reserve Enlistment, the recruiter is correct.

wdshea
02-17-10, 09:03 AM
I am planning on reserve enlistment. I am only a highschool grad with some college (55 credit hours), and he said I could only join the reserves.

If my recruiter is not telling me about these programs, or he is adamant to let me get these incentives, what could I do?

Lisa 23
02-17-10, 09:04 PM
I already have my heart set on joining the marines. Although I went ahead and Googled 'marine enlistment bonuses'. Not that I need an incentive, but I wouldn't mind a little something extra. There are a few MOS's that interest me, and coincidentally it seems there are bonuses associated with them.

This is the link I first looked at:
http://www.mfr.usmc.mil/join/bonus.asp

Then I went here to see more details:
http://www.marines.mil/news/messages/Pages/MARADMIN008-10.aspx

My recruiter is telling me that there are not any bonuses offered to active duty or reservists. I was hoping ya'll could give me a second opinion.

I appreciate any feedback.

When using the word Marines, it will be capitaized at all times.
And please refer to Marines as Marines, not ya'll.

Old Marine