PDA

View Full Version : Officer Programs

palten08
02-05-10, 09:51 PM
Good evening, Marines,

I have searched the forum and Google for awhile but have yielded little results. I'm sure the question I'm going to ask has been asked before but what research I've done hasn't entirely answered my question.

I'm a B student, in good (not great, yet!) physical shape, stay out of trouble etc, and have been considering the Marine Corps for awhile.

Eventually when I got into high school I did some more research and saw that there are Officer programs for the Marine Corps, which include flying, which is something that definitely interests me because the Marine Corps has lots of superb aircraft that I would love to fly.

I am currently in tenth grade but am bouncing between the idea of going to college for an Associate's degree first and then trying for the ROTC program, or enlisting and then using the G.I. Bill to pay for my college education, and then seeking a commission from there.

I do want to be a Marine and I do want to be an Officer because I like the prospect of leading and inspiring other members of the World's Finest Fighting Force, but I'm not sure what route to take.

If I go enlisted first, how much of a chance do I have of going to OCS?

And I'm thinking if I do the college route I'll just do ROTC, but then again, I would like to go to Parris Island to get the whole experience I've been thinking about since I was a kid.

Sorry for my 'novel' :p

Thanks in advance for the suggestions and advice

josephd
02-06-10, 02:21 AM
If you want to go enlisted first and become a Mustang then I would suggest joining right out of high school, do your 4 years active, go to school after, and then get your commission.

I messed around too much during my years at school with being indecisive on becoming a Marine. And now as much as I enjoy being a Marine I am not particularly happy with being a 25yr old Lance with no degree yet because I didn't set myself up for success.