PDA

View Full Version : Should I go OCS or enlist

jevile219
01-18-10, 10:36 AM
I graduated from college last spring and was planning on going to OCS but run time is pretty slow and it's taking me a lot longer to improve it than I thought. My OSO said the next available OCC if I wanted to go active duty wouldn't be until October, which would give me plenty of time to improve my run time. Only thing is, it's a long time away. Or... I could enlist much sooner and later go to OCS. I talked to an enlistment recruiter who said that I would have to wait about 9 months after boot camp to apply for OCS, unless of course I get deployed in that time, then it would be even later.

So here are my options. I see pros and cons of both and hoping someone who has been here before can give me some advice or perspective. Thanks.

Phantom Blooper
01-18-10, 10:55 AM
No one on this forum can make that decision for you....

YOU have to make the decision for yourself and what you want out of the Marine Corps but,ultimately what YOU want to put into it.

Some will say with a college education go officer....some will say enlisted....what do YOU want to do?

The pay scales are different and the lifestyle is different....with different workloads and social life.....

But when it comes down to it we are ALL Marines..

You have to make the decision for YOURSELF.:evilgrin:

WalkingMan
01-18-10, 11:01 AM
Not enough information. You profile is bare-bones... tells me nothing, and you post tells me that the only things you are focused on, are you run times, and your Active Duty date.

People who become officers would hopefully have a more focused idea, what they wanted to pursue in their career, and hopefully, their major in college would be geared toward their future military career.

In the Marine Corps, enlisted personnel are generally less focused than officers, but do have at least some idea what they are interested in... grunt vs air wing vs heavy equipment mechanic, comms, etc.