PDA

View Full Version : Possibility to change MOS field after acquiring US citizenship

alexeibas
01-18-10, 01:53 AM
Hi Marines,

I'm currently in the DEP, scheduled to ship to boot Feb. 8th, 2010. Currently I'm a US Permanent Resident (Green Card Holder & Ecuadorian citizen) and set for the G2-Ground Option/Infantry MOS field. Following my enlistment I took the DLAB and scored a 126 on it. My question was if, as currently due to citizenship restrictions I'm not allowed anywhere near a linguistics/intelligence MOS, following what I'm told will be a quick process to receive citizenship (I'm thinking about a year following my ship date, but maybe longer), I will be able to switch MOS fields into something like linguistics or intelligence? I'm quite unclear as to how life in the fleet will actually be like and what my opportunities will be in terms of moving around considering the options that open up once I gain citizenship, so thats why I'm asking for your advice/help.

Thanks in advance,

Alexei

TinDragon
01-18-10, 06:14 AM
Well, I can tell you that if it was possible to change MOSs that fast, you probably still wouldn't be able to get your clearance that fast. Even if you changed your citizenship, (I would assume) you'd still have relatives that're from another country, and believe me, that still makes it pretty hard to get a clearance. Possible of course, but a very lengthy process.

If I remember right, you usually can't "lat move" (change MOS) unless you reenlist anyway. If you did want to re-enlist, the time in between when you think you can get your citizenship and the time to re-enlist should be enough time to work on getting to at least an "eligible" status for a clearance.

Sgt Leprechaun
01-18-10, 11:53 PM