PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have experience working with contractors?

yeahyeah33
12-18-09, 12:17 AM
How do you Marines think a job with Blackwater (XE services) or another private contractor would be?

Do they only hire ex-military? Anyone have experience with these guys?

0231Marine
12-18-09, 07:12 AM
I've never been a hired gun or privatized security but I've worked with a lot of them overseas. They're nice enough guys, most of them at least and many of them have special forces backgrounds or come from teams. I'd say a vast majority of them are recruited and did not apply for a job but I'm sure that happens as well.

Following all the trouble that Blackwater got in which prompted the name change and resignation of many of their executives, I don't know what roles they now fill in the changing landscape if Iraq and Afghanistan. It's a pretty good paycheck though and since I was a contractor overseas, I can speak to the fact that it's easy living when you're with a major corporation like they are.

Lisa 23
12-18-09, 08:30 AM
And this has to do with boot camp and wanting to become a Marine how?

Vandrel
12-18-09, 08:48 AM
Blackwater is not the only ones that do private security overseas, there's many companies out there. Nearly all of them are prior service in some fashion. You can always drop a resume to them but if you don't have combat deployment experience or some type of advanced level skills then don't waste your time. Yes there are a lot of prior SOC guys employed in that line of work but they also hire non-SOC guys as well. That doesn't mean they are going to hire on LCpl Admin Clerk that deployed and never fire their weapon.