PDA

View Full Version : Potential Marine

awoods177
12-11-09, 05:54 AM
Hello everyone,

Im new round these parts, and just had a few questions about Marine reserves, OCS/PLC, etc.

First of all, I've completed 2 years of college, majoring in Physics and was seriously considering doing OCS. I learned a lot about it from a former OSO, but now I have a whole new set of questions.

I've taken a year off of school and lived/worked in Australia, trying to figure out what I really want to do, and the Marines is still a very viable option, but I also know that I DEFINITELY want to finish my degree at some point.

So, first question. I am a Nevada resident, but would like to gain Californian residency for university reasons. This takes a year, and I was wondering, since boot camp is in San Diego, can I start my year of living there when boot camp starts assuming when I finish I am still living in Cali?

Second question. I am considering Combat Engineer as my MOS. What guarantees do the Marines offer as far as MOS's go? Also, how long is the total training for this MOS? Basically, from original ship date till the time I can resume university. Speaking of MOS's....is there an MOS that incorporates scuba diving? I'm a divemaster and would really enjoy a career in which I get to dive often.

Third question. If were to join the reserves, gain caifornia residency and attend (probably a UC) university, can I still do OCS/PLC? Assuming this is possible, I assume once you graduate and accept your commision is it an active duty commision and not for the reserves?