PDA

View Full Version : Reserves Up!

Juicemang
12-07-09, 07:43 PM
Greetings Marines,

I was active duty from 2004-2008, with two pumps to Iraq. I got out last August. So, after over a year of operations in the 1st Civ Div, it looks like I'm going to re-enlist on the reserve side. I have come to realize over the past year that the Marine Corps is a big part of who I am, and I consider the Corps my family. I realized that I can't just walk away from it.

So, I'm going to talk to a PSR on thursday and get the ball rolling. I was wondering if other Marines who have served in the reserve could give me their thoughts and feelings on it. It sounds like I'll be attached to an air support group. My MOS is 0121, admin up! I'm a full time student and live about 45 minutes away from where drills will be held. I'm just curious what I can expect from the reserves, and what the best/worst parts about serving in the reserves are. Thanks brothers.

S/F

joecoul89
12-07-09, 07:52 PM
Well I'm in the reserves with an MP unit in Dayton, OH. We usually do a Friday/Saturday/Sunday drill, once a month. A nice thing is that if you are in need of money, you can get temporary active duty orders at your unit and work there every day. All of your needed training like rifle qual, swim qual, etc, is done on a weekend drill. The worst part is not being fully respected by other Marines, mainly active duty. But I have not regretted being a reservist yet. Its good for if you want to go to school or have a normal job outside of the military.

Juicemang
12-07-09, 08:17 PM
Thanks Joecoul. Any idea what the typical deployment to dwell ratios are?

benw2200
12-07-09, 10:15 PM
Approximately 4-5 years between mobilizations is the usual for reserve units.. and even if you're in your IRR time you'll still go, so most reservists with a 6x2 contract will deploy at least twice..

ZSKI
12-08-09, 07:07 AM