PDA

View Full Version : OCS or enlist?

rlaverty
12-06-09, 12:34 PM
I have a few months left before I finish my masters degree. Joining the Marine Corp. is something I've always wanted to do but never did because I wanted to finish getting my degree first. Now that I'm finishing school I really want to experience the challenge of being a Marine and fighting alongside the best. Should I enlist and then try to work my way up to officer or should I try to go through OCS first? Do Marines respect officers who were enlisted first or does that not really play a factor? Any tips or advice would be appreciated.

fespar
12-07-09, 04:42 AM
Masters Degree?How old are you?Let's start there as comments then will be more to the point.

rlaverty
12-07-09, 07:24 AM
Im 23. I started taking masters classes the month after I graduated.

GSEMarine94
12-07-09, 08:24 AM
Go to OCS, at your age doing an enlistment first may put you over the max age for OCS later on.
As far as respect, all officers are shown the respect their rank deserves.

fespar
12-07-09, 08:37 AM
If you wish to go the OCS way you must be commissioned prior to your 28th birthday.You could,of course,enlist first and then see if you qualify for Officer's School.No matter which way you go it'll be a lot of hard work."We Still Make 'Em Like We Used Too."

Vandrel
12-07-09, 11:15 AM
Enlisting first wouldn't do you much good if you wish to go officer later other then give you a check in the box. The only thing you would really see from doing that route is slightly more pay then the other guy next to you who wasn't prior enlisted, but that only lasts to Captain.

If you are 23 you can still enlist and go officer without even getting close to the 28 year old limit which I'm fairly sure you could get waived anyway these days. I've known a lot of folks who joined and stayed enlisted until they pinned on Lance Corporal and hit a year or so of time in service, then dropped their MECP package and switched over.