PDA

View Full Version : Family and Friends

btetlow
11-28-09, 12:02 AM
I'm a sophomore in high school and I have wanted to be a Marine since I was little. My father was a Marine in the technical field and my uncle was in the Army. I love this country to death and I would give my life for our freedom in an instant. As many adults would think immature, I also love my girlfriend to death. I do expect to hear a few criticisms about it, but I plan on marrying her and starting a family some day. But, I'm not here to talk about my life plan.
I want to join the Marines as soon as I graduate high school or college, but I'm hung up about my girlfriend.

I recognize the fact that the Marines are the most well trained, conditioned, and honorable military force on the planet, but I'm not sure what would happen to my wife if something were to happen to me? I've looked for information online, but have found nothing. If I can take comfort in the fact that she will continue to receive any benefits or monetary gain, then I will join the Marines without hesitation. I will most likely join regardless, but if fighting without fear of dying makes you a great soldier, I'm afraid I wouldn't make much of a soldier.

On the side, thank you to all of you for everything that you do for our country. I look up to all of you in the best possible way, and I strive to be like you.

dizark
11-28-09, 12:50 AM
I am Married, and am aware of a life insurance policy that I'm worth $400,000 and an extra $100,000 for spouse protection or something along those guidelines. So basically, if I pass away, god forbid, my wife will be eligible for $500,000.

You do pay for these policies but it's taken out of your paycheck and is like $26 a paycheck or something.

Anyways, you are young and have plenty of time to consider the options. Best of luck to you in school and your future.

Sgt Leprechaun
11-28-09, 03:22 AM