PDA

View Full Version : As Battle Rages, Anxiety GrowsReported by: Andrew Pereira

thedrifter
08-18-09, 07:13 AM
As Battle Rages, Anxiety GrowsReported by: Andrew Pereira
Email: apereira@khon2.com
Last Update: 8/17 7:21 pm

Since being deployed to Afghanistan in May, Kaneohe Marines with the 2nd Battalion, 3rd Regiment have paid a heavy price.

Six Marines and one U.S. sailor based at Marine Corps Base Hawaii have been killed in action in just the past two-and-a-half months.

Last week hundreds of Marines with the 2/3 engaged the Taliban for control of the strategic town of Dahaneh in southwestern Afghanistan ahead of the country’s presidential election this Thursday. Since the battle began communication with loved ones back home has been disrupted.

"With the activity last week there was a lapse and I was like, 'wait a minute I'm a seasoned pro at this. I shouldn't have the difficulty I'm having this week,’” said Misti Cauthon, whose husband Mike Cauthon is a gunnery sergeant with Golf Company.

The lapse in communication is especially hard for those wives who have never experienced their husbands going off to war.

“They're seeing these battles (and) they don't know what to expect,” said Kea Matory, whose husband Cpt. William Matory has been deployed to a war zone on multiple occasions. “They don't know whether their husband's coming come.”

The latest MCBH casualty was announced Monday by the Defense Department.

Lance Cpl. Joshua M. Bernard, 21, of New Portland, Main died August 14 while supporting combat operations in Afghanistan’s Helmand Province.

Five other Kaneohe based Marines have been killed in Afghanistan since early June, all of the deaths combat related:

Lance Cpl. Joshua R. Whittle, 20, died June 6. Cpl. Matthew R. Lembke, 22, died June 10. Lance Cpl. James D. Argentine, 22, Lance Cpl. Travis T. Babine, 20, and Sgt. Jay M. Hoskins, 24 all died August 6 from a roadside bomb.