PDA

View Full Version : Questions for all Former and Retired Marines.

top1371
08-03-03, 05:35 AM
Q. HOW DO YOU DO IT?:qmark:

I have been retired 7 whole months now. I would go back in, in a heart beat if they would let me. But my 40% disability would probably stop me.

Anyhow, I never thought I would have problems adjusting, but I am. I can imagine what it would be like if I still drank. Well, yes I can, I'd just stay drunk:D

I feel like I am just on leave. I miss the Corps. I dont have a problem with not having the rank anymore. Heck, at work I am a computer tech and when it is slow I sometimes clean the shop. My Marines would get a kick out of that.

My wife thinks I am too involved with the Corps. I subscribe to the Marine Corps Times and still wear my dog tags....

I work 1500-2400, so it is odd that I jumped out of the rack at 0430 today after having a dream that I had OOD on my last day in the Corps. What would Freud say...

Sometimes I feel like using that sign that says BANG HEAD HERE, because retiring was dumb. I could have stayed a litte longer, but in the last year, my body started breaking down. I never had any injurys in 21 years, but last year I had a neck, back and knee injury. And 30% of my 40% disabily is for the old ticker...

I go down and visit the recruiter from time to time. Odd, I was the recruiter here 10 years ago. The recruiter is a Gunny, he was a member of my RS and was a Sergeant the last time I was out here.

Ok, thanks for letting me rant and getting this off my chest.

Semper Fi,

Top:marine:

yellowwing
08-03-03, 06:51 AM
Oh heck, going back in time. I would be a senior Gunny or a new Major if I had stayed in. About twice a year I have still have those boot camp dreams.

One of the main reasons why I visit Leatherneck.com is to be reasured that everything in the Corps is still ship shape. Now I get to interject my Liberal/Democratic opinion without any fear of any serious reprocussions.