PDA

View Full Version : Pft

Echo 29
07-20-09, 10:45 PM
Hey everyone. I'm pretty new to the Leatherneck community so I just wanna say howdy first. I've filled out my profile so I don't need an arse-chewing, thank you.

So I'm pretty green here and I wanted to get the gist of the PFTs in the Marine Corps. I started out wanting to join the Army but I decided otherwise. Getting into 1st Class for the PFT has always been a big goal for me and it wasn't a problem if I was to join the Army. When I checked out the scoring charts for the Marine Corps., that changed.

So finally...here's my question. Do you take the PFT immediately after enlistment, or do you finish boot camp first?

Petz
07-20-09, 10:55 PM
you do an IST... just like what you'd do as a Poolee...

got talk to a recruiter and he/she'll bone you up on everything you need.

dizark
07-20-09, 11:01 PM
As the SSgt said you'll do an IST the first week at bootcamp known as receiving week. On training day 35 you'll do a midcycle PFT and near the end of bootcamp before the Crucible you'll do the final PFT.

In Marine Combat Training you won't do a PFT however once I got picked up in my class at my MOS school I had to take another PFT.

Lisa 23
07-20-09, 11:34 PM
First off, since you are only 14 years old according to your profile, I'd worry about finishing school first.

Go to this site: http://www.mcrdpi.usmc.mil/training/index.asp
It gives you a brief description of each training day in the training matrix, from Phase 1 to Phase 3.

Sergeant M
07-21-09, 12:27 AM
IST at beginning of bootcamp. 2 PFTs during bootcamp. 2 PFTs each year after that.

Echo 29
07-21-09, 08:07 AM
Okay, thank you all for the information. I'll keep that in mind, LASWMarine.

NoRemorse
07-21-09, 08:18 AM