PDA

View Full Version : General Questions and advice

Saer
07-06-09, 03:45 PM
Hello,

I am new here and have been searching for some information in my choices in the military.

First and foremost I am not 100% sure on my career choice.

I am 24, completely out of shape but not obese. I have been considering the Marines or even the SEALS for about two years, however I am having trouble finding real information. I have not been to a recruiter yet because every time I tried to contact one they were not available. After August I will be making my final decision.

I understand a lot of the hardships with boot from reading many posts from this community and others.

Onto my actual questions:
What are the current primary duties of a Marine? As well as a SEAL?

Which will push me further beyond my limits in not only physical/mental abilities but also in real world situations?

Will I be able to serve until retirement in either branches? I am assuming yes on this one but to be honest, I can't find alot of information on it.

Being that I am not in shape and a little overweight, Will this hinder me in my serving our country? If so please elaborate.

I understand some of this information may be found with a lot more effort but I do better actually talking to people than reading random articles. I am very serious about this decision, as naive as I may sound.

Thank you very much for your time, I will be around later tonight to go into more detail if more is needed. As well as a few more detailed questions which have to wait for later due to a shortage of time right this second. I will be visiting the military booths tonight at the Butler Fair in Pennsylvania.

Lisa 23
07-06-09, 04:05 PM
No profile, no answers. And read the rules in the Poolee forum and read the rules in the Ask A Marine forum.

killbodies3027
07-06-09, 06:45 PM