PDA

View Full Version : College Grad-Go enlisted?

suten65
06-28-09, 01:54 AM
Howdy Marines,

I'm a 23 year-old college grad who is interested in joining the USMC. I have been blessed with an outstanding work ethic and amazing intelligence but I have always felt that every citizen needs to serve their country. I have worked through an OSO for about the past year only to not be selected for at least 2 OCS classes but have been highly interested for at least a year. I have worked the civilian life for 2 years now but just have no personal satisfaction with my life. I am still interested in enlisting and going to OCS at a later date but worried about my chances and time frame. Are there any programs available to speed up this process? If not, what is a legit, ethical, and honest route to become a leader of Marines climbing the ranks (ie, what rank must I attain before I submit an OCS packet? - please forgive my naive questions)?

I know my heart lies with the USMC. I don't want to look back in 50 years and regret not having performed this enormous endeavour and squandered my youth. My family is definitely less than supportive of me joining as enlisted but please understand that my family's support means a lot to me. Ultimately I understand that this is my decision but I want my family's blessing. Am I alone here? Are there ways to help sooth their worry?

This is the first objective in my life that I've truly wanted for myself and want to obtain. To say that "Yes I wanted it with all my heart and Yes I achieved it." I can go back to school or find a new job when I'm older (God willing) but I know I only have so much time to give my youth to the USMC. Are there other college grads who have then gone enlisted felt the same way?

Your opinions mean a lot to me and I humbly thank you for your time, consideration, and service on my behalf.

Alisium
06-28-09, 01:56 AM
Go enlisted, do your four, increase your marketability to the Officer program then reapply later.

rvillac2