PDA

View Full Version : New orleans reservist???

spartan1371
06-25-09, 12:56 PM
I live in pensacola florida, just recently joined the reserves, i was a former combat engineer on active duty from 2003-2007 took a two year break and recently joined the 6174 MOS, God willing ill make it through that tough school, from what the prior service recruiter has told me thus far, i will be opperating in New Orleans JRB or Belle chasse. I was Curious if any other Marines on this forum were from that unit and could tell me more about the the drill weekends or squadrons present there, nothing regarding OPSEC, but just some basic knowledge of what to expect going in, and if they enjoyed the decision of going into the reserves and working that area.

Thanks... and looking for any responses on the matter!

:usmc:THE FEW, THE PROUD, THE MARINES!:usmc:

killbodies3027
06-25-09, 01:18 PM
Interesting that you should bring this up because I was about to make a thread about the serves. I've been out since 2007 as well and am starting to get the itch to re-up.

What's the process like having to re-enlist for the reserves and all that jazz? I was planning on just staying in infantry so I didn't have to go to a school again.

Ultimately my goal is to just stay in the reserves until I graduate college and then apply for commission.

killbodies3027
06-25-09, 01:31 PM
I don't want to hijack your thread so if anyone is willing to give me some details on the re-upping process for the reserves pm me, I'd appreciate it.

And yes I've contacted a recruiter, they just take forever to respond.

BR34
06-25-09, 04:35 PM
Belle Chase is actually about 45 min south of the city. There's new housing on base (cpl years old) and good on base schools. Don't know crap about how the reserves or drills work though.

JRB I believe is directly across the river from MEPS, which is in the 9th Ward. Get your CCW permit.

spartan1371
06-26-09, 12:03 PM