PDA

View Full Version : Childbirth Incident One 'First' The Military Didn't Need

thedrifter
07-22-03, 06:04 AM
07-21-2003

Childbirth Incident One 'First' The Military Didn't Need

By Matthew Dodd

In case you missed the nano-second of news media attention it received amid all the other major stories and issues from the war with Iraq, a Marine staff sergeant assigned to the amphibious assault ship USS Boxer gave birth to a healthy 7-pound boy on May 23 while her ship was operating in the Persian Gulf.

Pentagon officials at the time said they believed this was the first time an active-duty servicewoman delivered a baby on a combat ship in a war zone.

From my perspective as a career military officer, I fervently pray that this is also the very last time an active-duty woman delivers a baby on a combat ship in a war zone.

This event is certainly worthy of public and military attention, not only because it was a historic first-time event, but because of its realities, its implications, and the serious military readiness questions it raises.

The incident clearly moves the debate over gender-integration of combat units from the realm of the hypothetical to the realm of reality; from mere speculation to actuality. Itis no longer a “What if…?” scenario, but a legitimate “What now…?” situation. The bottom line is that now this has happened, all of us in the military need to closely examine what transpired, how those in her chain of command handled it, and what steps we must take to prevent a similar case from ever happening again.

According to an article in The Washington Times on June 11, 2003, the Marine: