PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Marine life...

SCFirefighter
06-22-09, 09:04 PM
Well, to start things off with an introduction, my name is John. I am a Firefighter/Paramedic, professional photographer and storm chaser. My father served in the Marine Corps (Camp Lejeune), my Grandfather on my mom's side was in the 82nd and my Grandfather on dad's side did Special Operations during Vietnam (With him it seems to be "Don't ask don't tell"). My uncle served in the 82nd Airborne along with a few friends of ours. I also had a buddy that was killed by an insurgent I.E.D. attack in Ghazni, Afghanistan on August 9, 2005. So... needless to say, I grew up in a "military oriented" atmosphere, but chose to find my niche in other vocations.

I've got a thing for MilSims, Project Reality being high on the list. To put it simply, PR is a (as my buddy's in the service put it) "Highly realistic combat experience". As real as it gets... next to being there of course. The first time I played it, we had a full server of 62 people, 6 squads on each side. Our mission was to find weapons caches hidden across western Fallejuah, while the insurgents tried to hold us back. I played the game with my computer connected to a 42" flat screen and surround sound turned up, with the hopes of closely simulating a combat enviroment as possible. Let me say this... it scared the living hell out of me! I couldn't imagine being under enemy fire. I have a great deal of respect for anyone who has "been there, done that". The sounds of bullets cracking past our heads, rounds impacting the ground around us, an IED detonating less than 50m from our HMMWV... it was terrifying.