PDA

View Full Version : Almost ready to swear in

dakensei
06-06-09, 07:41 PM
First let me say that this page an its forums have been invaluable to the research and preparation I have done on my path to enlistment and hopefully one day becoming a U.S. Marine.
I am currently facing a dilemma and I need some the opinion(s) and or recommendations.

I am a lawful resident of the United States and have been so for 10 years. I have been eligible for citizenship for 6 years now. I owe much to this country and its people. My daughter was born in Fort Lauderdale, FL 8 years ago. Since I am a child I have been very involved and interested in anything American. I have always looked up to the men and women of the armed forces, especially the Marines, with great respect and admiration. I have considered enlisting for a few years but 6 months ago that feeling started to become a concrete idea and plan in my mind. I felt time was running out for me to try (I am 28) and I don't want to look back later in life and regret not having made an attempt to become a Marine and serve this country.
2 months ago I called a recruiter and I met with him. I went very well prepared having read a lot about the Marines the different MOS's, Requirements, I watched every boot camp video and every movie I could find about the Marines. I know my age is the weak link in the chain.I have accepted the fact that I might be called grandpa or any other nickname referring to old age. Thats fine. I have thick skin. I asked the recruiter about this and he said its possible that might happen. I appreciated his honesty.

I took the ASVAB a week ago. Here are my scores as written on paper by the recruiter. AFQT 87 GT 129 EL 128 MM 129 CL 123

I qualify for many different MOS's. except for the fact that I am not a citizen, which then limits my choices significantly. My hopes were that I could go into the Intelligence field, or maybe become a Linguist, more than anything else I would like to be 0321.