PDA

View Full Version : Lejeune Marines at risk for Lyme disease

thedrifter
05-23-09, 06:41 AM
Lejeune Marines at risk for Lyme disease
Comments 2 | Recommend 2
May 22, 2009 - 6:29 PM
AMANDA HICKEY

It took seven years for retired Lt. Col. Dave Tierney to find out what was wrong with him.

The fatigue, brain fogs, vision problems and insomnia that plagued him after being stationed at Cherry Point went undiagnosed by more than 30 doctors he said.

Then in 2007, he was told he had Multiple Sclerosis (MS).

The diagnosis, however, was wrong.

"I was on MS medicine for two months, and when I was on the Internet and typed in my symptoms Lyme disease kept coming up," Tierney said by phone from his home in Cary.

Tierney then spoke to a doctor who specialized in Lyme disease and was treated in less than three months.

"It's really scary if you think about it. My doctor told me I should never fly an airplane again (and) I'm a pilot," Tierney said. "I've been back at work for 14 months and if he'd had his way, I would be out of work right now and my career would be over."

Tierney never saw the tick that carried the disease, though he suspects the tick found him while he was training at the Bogue Air Field.

Lt. Cmdr. Chad Sparks, an internal medicine physician at Naval Hospital Camp Lejeune, said it's not uncommon for people not to notice a small tick attached to their skin.

"The deer tick is usually where they'll get (Lyme disease), usually if they're out hiking or fishing or something like that," Sparks said. "The problem is when deer ticks are young, they're very small so usually it's the young ones that get people because they're so small. Usually they're only at risk for the disease if they've had the tick on them for 36 hours."

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), North Carolina had 53 confirmed cases of Lyme disease in 2007. Statistics for 2008 are not yet available.