PDA

View Full Version : Two Soldiers' Stories of War and Art

thedrifter
05-10-09, 08:21 AM
Two Soldiers' Stories of War and Art

BURLINGTON — "Open Wound" is one of the first works created by book-and-paper artist Eli Wright in the Combat Paper Project based at the Green Door Studio in Burlington, Vt.

"It's just about the wounds we all come home with and what eats us from the inside out," said Wright, a native of Denver, Colo. "It's a hole. A window into our souls into what we have been through."

He enlisted into the U.S. Army after 9/11. A 1st Infantry Division combat medic, he was stationed in Ar Ramadi, Iraq, from September 2003 to September 2004. He was told their task was to set up medical clinics and provide medical support.

"None of which ever happened. I was tasked out to other things. My job was primarily involved in trauma medicine. I was a line medic. I was an ambulance driver, and I also operated the battalion aid station and provided medical support for convoys. I did combat patrol for IEDs."

TAKING OWNERSHIP

Due to stop-loss, Wright's tour was involuntarily extended to six-and-a-half years. He worked at Walter Reed Army Medical Center and was transferred to the 10th Mountain Division in Watertown. A pending shoulder surgery gave him an Afghanistan out.

"I ended up getting medically retired out of the army at Fort Drum."

While he was on active duty there, he met Iraq Vets Against the War like Drew Cameron, co-founder of the Combat Paper Project. When he separated from the army, Wright wandered for a while before crashing with Combat Paper vets, who pulp military uniforms to make paper for art.

"I started working on the project full time and moved to Burlington."
At first, he lived in his car and with friends. Now, he rents a room. Papermaking has been art therapy for him.