PDA

View Full Version : Presentation.........

crate78
04-30-09, 09:12 AM
My wife volunteered me to give a presentation on the military to an eighth grade class next week.

I've never done this before. If any of ya'll have any suggestions, I'm all ears.

Thanks in advance,

crate

TJR1070
04-30-09, 09:21 AM
I have always found that it's easy to talk about something you love. With that being said I would suggest that with only a rough outline of topics that you would like to discuss (ex. Marine History, your own Marine Corps story, Marine current events) that you will have no problem and you might even run out of time before you finish. I teach adult students EMT, but I also give classes in the schools in my fire district for fire prevention education. I will say that children often have alot more questions and usually lead the conversation in certain directions that might interest them. That however makes it easy to keep the discussion going and to smoothly introduce new topics. Their geniune interest and excitement about new things makes it a wonderful experience to share knowledge with them.

Rocky C
04-30-09, 09:33 AM
Crate,
Since they are eighth graders and are proably easily distracted from some speaking topics I would set up some audio/video equipment, go to the local libray and pick up a DVD on Marine Corps history, show it, take some Q&A and then, Class dismissed. Time will go by, you'll look like a College professer, and your Wife will love you for it!!!
Semper Fi,
Rocky

crate78
04-30-09, 10:43 AM
I'm kinda thinking along the lines of giving a brief history of each branch of the service, their individual roles in national defense, and how each branch of the service complements and supports the other.

Then open it for Q&A.

I may take a few Marine Corps artifacts along.

Thanks for the responses.

crate

awbrown1462
04-30-09, 10:53 AM
go talk to a Recuriter and see if he has anything to use also..
have to ask this what is a E-5 Staff Seragent

crate78