PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Guidance/Advice

anr25
03-16-09, 06:14 PM
Hi everyone, this is my first post but I have been reading this forum for almost two years and appreciate all the insights I've gained from those who have posted. I am posting now because the time has come for me to make a decision about my future and even though I realize that only I know whats best, I think I am having such a hard time deciding because I know literally nobody with any military experience to look to for help. Hopefully some people on here can do that for me.
I am a sophomore at a very good University and I fully understand how lucky I am to be here and how useful that degree can be in the future. The problem is that I lack any motivation, direction, discipline and pride which has caused me to feel as though I am wasting my time and my life by being here. My grades are fine but I just feel extremely unsatisfied with my life. All day, I think about what it would be like to be a Marine and I am filled with a desire to make that happen like I've never felt before. I have considered the Air Force because it is the most "academic" or whatever and I even met with a recruiter but it just didn't feel right and I knew right then that I would not join any service but the Marine Corps. So now I'm forced to choose between remaining in school and spending my time dreaming about becoming a Marine while earning a prestigious degree or abandoning the degree to make that dream happen. I have considered the officer route but in all honesty, it isn't for me. I am not looking to make a career out of the military but am hoping to do my four years and get out a changed person with a serious direction in life who has done his part for this country. I think, and I could definitely be wrong, that the enlisted side is more what I'm looking for. Also, I really don't want to spend another two years here so thats a factor. That pretty much sums up my situation and I would greatly appreciate answers to an