PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Marine Corps Security Forces

Miclo
03-11-09, 12:55 AM
I re enlisted as deferred option. I'm a radio operator and i'm thinking about going security forces as my B billet. As a non 0300 what exactly would i be doing? Is there anyway to get on the FAST without being an 0300? I'm trying to go east coast. Besides Georgia and Virginia, are there other places on the east coast for security forces?

Petz
03-11-09, 12:58 AM
wow... isn't there a thread somewhere for this... and wow... I have no clue... why securty forces??? why not MCT instructor and come back a SNCO or MSG and see the world while coming back a SNCO....???????????????????????????????

thewookie
03-11-09, 06:26 AM
I re enlisted as deferred option. I'm a radio operator and i'm thinking about going security forces as my B billet. As a non 0300 what exactly would i be doing? Is there anyway to get on the FAST without being an 0300? I'm trying to go east coast. Besides Georgia and Virginia, are there other places on the east coast for security forces?

As a non-03 you will be part of the guard platoon(s), assuming that you go there on 8154 duty (MCSF) As a Sgt., you'll be the SOG or something like that, you won't be standing post but you'll be running the show. They've closed a lot of the "old" MCSF duty stations that were around when I was in. But, if you wanted to stay on the east coast and if you have a PMI background you could look into Dam Neck Range Detachment or working as an Instructor for the basic school both of those are in Virginia. As far as the rest of the east coast duty stations, I think you only have FAST in the Norfolk area, and then the sub base at Kings Bay, GA. I'm not 100% sure, but I think that's it for MCSF posts on the east coast. Might I recommend either Rota Spain or Naples Italy. Both places are great for an unaccompanied NCO.