PDA

View Full Version : Need some help with discussing decision to girlfriend

brandnew161
03-06-09, 06:56 PM
Evening,
I have been talking with the local recruiter for awhile and I have made a personal decision to enlist. However I have not filled out the contract yet for a few reasons. A few months ago I had the desire to join the Army only due to the fact that it was the first branch i really looked into. My girlfriend thought it was a phase and didnt take it too seriously. Now that I have ultimately picked the Marines as a future brotherhood she has come to the realization that it is something that I truly desire.

I am a community college freshman but technically in my sophomore year on the transcript due to credits. She is a junior in high school; dating over 2 years. She is supportive and says to do what i believe is right. Obviously she is struggling with that. Her main concern is not being able to see me. I told her that if we were meant to be together then this will be worth it. Not to be selfish but on the other hand I want to do something that will make me a better person, what if me and her do not last yahno.

So in short, what are some things that i can tell her which will make things a little easier.

Thank you for your help

Marine84
03-06-09, 08:28 PM
LOL! This is what I call free entertainment on a Friday night!

ARE YOU SERIOUS!?!?!? Any of these guys will be more than HAPPY to take care of her while you're gone!

yellowwing
03-06-09, 08:38 PM
So you want coaching on kicking her to the curb?

brandnew161
03-06-09, 08:47 PM
I'm trying to be serious and no i dont need any tips on kicking her to the curb. I understand that it is only 3 months and i'm not worried about her cheating, if she does then whatever its not going to stop me from continuing what i want to do.

Side note: is the 10 day leave after BT taken out of the 30 day paid leave? Also, can you take days off while in schooling?

Zulu 36
03-06-09, 08:59 PM