PDA

View Full Version : ADHD Medication/Lying at MEPS

redsox1804
03-05-09, 12:29 AM
Thank you to everyone who has answered all of my questions and provided me with insight. I have decided to enlist and hope to one day soon share the title of Marine with you.:flag:

I have been on a form of Adderall for a little over a month now. I graduated high school last spring, and spent my time since then taking a course at a community college and working full time. I was considering testing out ADD medication to help me in college, and my pediatrician decided that it would be wise to start now, so I could have a regiment set up by next fall. I received several full scholarships to colleges which I have decided to turn down, based on my work in high school, during which time I was never on ADHD medication, and scored well on the SAT without any aids or medication. My recruiter told me that based on this, it would be in my best interest to omit any mention of ever having been on the medication when I go to MEPS. I am not at all at ease with committing a felony, and would like to be as honest as possible. Could I likely get a waiver based on the fact that I am obviously mentally competent without medication, and have only been on medication for a month? Should I lie to MEPS? What are the chances that they would find out, considering that the prescribing doctor is actually my primary care physician? Thanks as always.

-Mark

Alisium
03-05-09, 12:38 AM
That's a tough call.

I know the FBI does a background check on you but, I'm not sure how exstensive. I'm not inclined to think they'll look at your medical records. But, double check that.

I don't know that ADHD would be a disqualifier for the military either, as a significant portion of today's youth have been "diagnosed" with ADHD. 10 years ago, no one had ADHD and now suddenly everyone seems to. Who knows what the Marine Corps thinks?