PDA

View Full Version : considering joining USMC (24y/o college grad)

dalingh
01-21-09, 09:29 PM
I am strongly considering joining the USMC. I'm at at point where I need a dramatic change in life. I have a college degree from the University of Kansas (business administration and management). I am 24 years old. I have not yet spoken with a recruiting officer, but I plan on doing so next week. What would be my options for enlistment? I know that I want to go into the USMC. I'm looking for some advice on how my career would progress being a 24 year old. I read somewhere that said that in reality you are enlisting for 8 years not 4, can anyone please expand on that statement. I've been in the working world for 2 years now and I really do not enjoy it. I've always thought about being in a Marine. I have a great job, it pays well, but it is not for me. By doing this I would break my families hearts, but I've got to do this for myself.

Drew

rvillac2
01-21-09, 10:29 PM
You need to do a thorough read through the Poolee Hall threads. You can find more info with more google searches, too.
You should also look into the Marine Officer websites.

dalingh
01-21-09, 10:55 PM
MARINE officer is something that I have considered. I'm in great shape as it is, I live a fairly healthy lifestyle, so I've got half of that battle won.

One concern that I have is that I wear contact lenses. I know that if you wear glasses you are required to wear MARINE provided glasses. What are the rules for contact lenses? Would I be allowed to wear them or would I be required to wear glasses?

How strict are the rules on for a police record WAIVER? I had a couple of arrests while in college, no felonies, just misdemeanors, also a handful of speeding tickets while in high school. My character is not a question, IMO, but the USMC may think differently.

Pete0331
01-21-09, 11:38 PM