PDA

View Full Version : Looking For Advice

Hunter88
01-14-09, 03:21 PM
I am a college sophomore and i am looking to join the Platoon leaders course. I thought about joining when I was a freshmen but when i went into the recruiting center they were more interested in having me sign the service contract then actually getting me where I wanted to go. So now I know to go into the OSO if I want into the PLC course. So I have been doing more research and it seems, that there is no basic training in the PLC and no real chance of being deployed or pulled out of college. There is just the summer months training to prepare you for OCC and to evaluate you for future leadership. Assuming I am right in this I wanted to receive some sort of a MOS that revolved infantry but more towards force recon or special forces but a MOS 203 seems to be the closest to that and I do not want to simply limit my options to getting that MOS or just living with where ever I am assigned. So I was wondering if there was anyway that I can transfer to The Navy Seal (cause marines and navy are close) or (and I am assuming this is more difficult) army rangers or special forces. I was thinking of this because I know that officers play a more active role in fighting in the army and in navy seals then in the marines because in the marines it is mostly carried out by sergeants and their teams. It seems in the Marines that Officers are more about Logistics. Also I am wondering what other MOS's I should make a priority (even though I know that it is about what the corp needs and not what I want) besides MOS 203 based on my preferences that I listed above.

Enigmatic
01-14-09, 04:44 PM