PDA

View Full Version : Just Another PCS* (Bateman's Back...)

thedrifter
01-13-09, 07:05 AM
Just Another PCS* (Bateman's Back...)
Eric Alterman
Mon Jan 12, 1:56 pm ET

The Nation -- Hello Altercators, old and new. LTC Bob here, just checking in to the new place.

All this Altercation moving around these past few years really has not bugged me too much. The reason is fairly obvious if you know who I am, or perhaps more specifically, what I am. Among other things (writer, father, historian, husband, singer-of-bad-songs, university professor), I am a professional US Army infantry officer, and I have been for almost twenty years now. That's what that little "LTC" in front of my name means. I am a Lieutenant Colonel, and that is the way that the Army abbreviates that rank.** This matters, you see, because be it peace or war, we soldiers are America's gypsies. Indeed, by the time my oldest daughter was nine years old she had lived in Hawaii, Kentucky, Texas, Ohio, New York, and was in the midst of moving to her sixth state, Virginia. That is just the way it is for Soldiers and their families. Packing up and moving is so much a part of the experience that it ceases to be unique in any way. So one more Altercation jump really does not make too much of a difference on this end, my motivation remains the same.

I write for Eric's page because, well, I think that it is important that people should have some knowledge of, and connection to, their own military. To that end I figured it just made sense to write for the audience least likely to have a whole lot of experience with or personal direct connections to the military in general and the Army in particular. At the same time I hope to demystify where needed, explain some things, and express outrage when appropriate...mostly on issues relating either to the US military or some of my other afflictions, notably journalism and history. All of which brought me to Eric's page via my buddy (and former running mate) Pierce.