PDA

View Full Version : My story, which led me to where I am now! (if in the wrong place MODs, please move)

Tolerance
01-11-09, 11:39 PM
What's up Marines/Pooles. I just registered and I decided to share my story with this board. My story's rather long, so I'll CLIFF this to the best of my abilities! <br />
<br />
I graduated in June 2008. My...

echo3oscar1833
01-12-09, 06:49 AM
Damn, dude that sucks, at least you stuck it out to get out of the Army Contract, to join the Corps. Instead of going Army and being stuck doing something you were miserable doing. I would make sure to call that First Sergeant, and thank him for telling you the truth.

Marine84
01-12-09, 09:34 AM
Just from what I read...................I think you're choosing the Corps for ALL the wrong reasons. If you really want to go to school, there are other ways of doing it besides choosing any branch of service.

Your plan may work out for you but, what are you going to do if your Unit gets called up? You can't tell them "I have a final tomorrow that I can't miss".

Petz
01-12-09, 10:03 AM
are you going reserves or active duty? if you put off college for 4 years, you'll have the new GI bill and your expenses are paid for, and you still be in the reserves making a little extra money and get promoted while you are at it.

if you go reserves and you get called up... you do have the ability to drop out of those classes and get your money re-imbursed if they aren't willing to drop you in another class for free or work out a re-take on your test.

I deployed with some reservists and they were all ****ed about college, none of them wanted to talk about it.. haha, it was funny when you think about it.

just stick to what you feel it right and in the end you will have no regrets.

SGT7477
01-12-09, 10:03 AM
I agree with 84.

Tolerance
01-12-09, 11:11 AM
oops... LOL I'm sorry Marines! I guess I got tired and left some stuff out.......

I'm going ACTIVE now.

-I already missed 2 semesters of college