PDA

View Full Version : Florida Highway Patrol or stay Marine?

ranger722000
12-21-08, 08:49 AM
I posted this on another group but I thought this would have been the more appropriate group to post too. I'm in the middle of a big decision. I have been a cop all my life and was recently laid off. I now have the opportunity to do something I have always wanted to do... go back into the Marine Corps and fly with the marines as a crew chief on a helicopter..lots of travel and a great job. However, all I have known all my adult life is being a cop, and it scares me to start a new career ...and life... at the age of 36 (I know I'm not old but still seems somewhat old ha). The other part of this is that I have been accepted to be a trooper in the State of Florida and continue my law enforcement career down there. The only thing is the salary stinks...$33,000 a year and no pay raises. I know I would do well there. I'm just confused about what I should do....any suggestions?

Big Jim
12-21-08, 08:54 AM
Well....you have to consider your future plans as well...and family if you're married and have kids. Either job has its drawbacks and perks but you're the only one who has to live with the decisions and the consequences thereof. The age of 36 isn't old but for the active military lifestyle it is up there....no matter which endeavor you choose. Be sure and think of your future of your decision...you also have retirement to plan for and family to consider. Weigh every and all options....good luck in what ever you decide...

SGT7477
12-21-08, 09:50 AM
Marine your profile needs work, Semper FI.

JohnEaceHunt
12-21-08, 10:08 AM
Ranger, this post will dissapear soon after its posted, but if I had already been Marine, I'd take the$2750 a month where you can be home each night and have More benifits. Its not easy to become a Trooper, and not everyone gets the chance. Raises will be coming soon, and its best in my opinion to become a Trooper. My Nickle.

FistFu68
12-21-08, 12:52 PM