PDA

View Full Version : Navy nurse saw the world, witnessed history

thedrifter
12-04-08, 08:12 AM
Navy nurse saw the world, witnessed history
By Jennifer Grogan

Published on 12/4/2008

Ledyard - Barbara Ellen Miller had never thought about joining the Navy until she saw a recruiting poster advertising military service as a way to see the world.

”I thought, 'Hmm, I think that's for me,' so I went in, went up to the desk and I said, 'I want to join the Navy,'” said Miller, remembering that day in Baltimore in 1961.

”The sailor said, 'Do you type?' and I said, 'I don't type, I'm a nurse. Do you type?' He smiled and told me to go upstairs.”

Miller, who was about to graduate from the University of Maryland with a master's degree in nursing, spent the afternoon upstairs with a recruiter, filling out the paperwork to sign up.

She would spend 20 years as a Navy nurse, working at naval hospitals from Yokosuka, Japan, to Groton, taking care of everyone from presidents to Marines wounded in Vietnam to sailors held hostage in North Korea.

Often assigned to the extreme cases, like quadriplegics and amputees, Miller devoted herself to nursing. She worked nonstop, leaving little time for much else.

Now Miller, at 74, will become the first woman inducted into the Connecticut Veterans' Hall of Fame in a ceremony at the Legislative Office Building in Hartford Tuesday.

”She really has had a very amazing life, of not only service to the nation but also to the community,” said Linda Schwartz, the state's veterans' affairs commissioner. “And I'm glad we finally have a woman. I hope she is just the beginning.”

Ten veterans have been inducted into the hall each year since 2005, when the governor created the program as a way to recognize veterans' achievements. More than 70 people were nominated this year.