PDA

View Full Version : bgsuwoody deploys to Afghanistan....

Phantom Blooper
11-14-08, 03:28 PM
3/8 deploys to Afghanistan

November 14, 2008 - 2:31PM
JENNIFER HLAD (jhlad@freedomenc.com)

<!-- Video goes here -->As the last 250 Marines and sailors of 3rd Battalion, 8th Marine Regiment stood in a parking lot at Camp Lejeune, waiting to deploy to Afghanistan with the rest of the unit, lance corporals Timothy Brown, Jesse Young and Peter Reed stood among a pile of sea bags and rucksacks.
Brown smoked a cigarette, while Young ate a muffin. Reed said his emotional state was "right between really excited and nervous."
Like many other Marines, the three men said they are glad they are deploying to Afghanistan, instead of Iraq.
"There's a lot more going on over there," Brown said.
"I'm not good with hot weather," Reed said, plus other Marines have told him there's not much going on in Iraq.
And while he will miss "women ... and being able to go out without worrying about anything," Reed said he is happy to be able to see a new place and possibly see some combat.
"Looking forward to getting into a firefight," he said.
The Marines with 3/8 will serve as the ground combat element of a specially created Marine Air-Ground Task Force, composed of units from throughout the Marine Corps to replace the 24th Marine Expeditionary Unit and 2nd Battalion, 7th Marine Regiment in southern Afghanistan.
The Marines will continue that mission, getting the Afghan people engaged in their government and the security of their country, said Maj. Brian Mulvihill, the executive officer of 3/8. They will use a model similar to the one used by the Marine Corps in western Iraq.
The unit was completing training in California when the Marines learned they would deploy to Afghanistan, not Iraq. Young said some Marines extended their contracts so they could go to Afghanistan.