PDA

View Full Version : Can college and the Marine Corp co-exist?

redwhiteandblue
11-13-08, 12:51 PM
I'm a college student and I really want to serve my country I've read all about the PLC OCS program and such but I'm interested in the Enlisted ranking first then later becoming an officer. My question is Can a enlistee attend college easily or is it somewhat difficult with your work schedule and other things I don't know about.

MLMonk
11-13-08, 01:11 PM
I've heard MANY Marines who have/are attending college during their active duty time. I have never personally tried college and active duty yet, so I would take this answer as a guideline.

I have heard good things about PLC, my USMC Colonel (ret) teacher has done it, and my LCpl friend is currently doing it. They both said it was worth it since you are attending college full time and going to OCS during the summers. The only problem I think is with what you want, I don't think the PLC would give you much of the Enlisted experiance I think you are looking for.

redwhiteandblue
11-13-08, 01:21 PM
Yea, I know that being an officer is a great thing thats probably what I'll end up shooting for but I'd like to be in the thick of things. I understand that leading marines is a great honor but getting to actually fight for your country first hand in my opinion is what its all about. I also feel that if you get led first it will make you a better leader in the long run.

0231Marine
11-13-08, 01:30 PM
RWB,