PDA

View Full Version : Marines & Motorcycles

Tradesmart
10-31-08, 10:15 AM
http://www.cnn.com/2008/US/10/30/marine.motorcycles/index.html

I've been riding since 1966 and the only accident(s) was when I dropped my FXSTI (Harley) when I was drunk. I dropped it a few times.

Just because we are Marines and most of us are thrill seekers, it does not mean we know how to ride a bike.

It is a fact that there are more Marines on bikes (per capita) then any other branch of Military.

It isn't being a (wimp) to go to school and learn something new about riding. Riders as old as I am still go to school every couple years. We always re-learn what we have forgotten and sometimes learn something new and meet up with a "girly scootier".

Plus our insurance is sometimes lower when we go to school.

I talk seriously about school because if you look at the accidents most of them can be avoided. Most accidents on bikes are "totally stupid".

I live here in the mountains of Colorado where riding is a total blast! The roads are open and the deer roam freely. We don't have the traffic of cities but we have the curves and rumble in the canyons from the straight pipes. It's so cool.

I don't believe that "slow down and live" means too much in a cage but on a bike, YES it does. But it isn't just the speed that kills bikers. It is simply knowing how to ride and ride safely.

We have all seen those idiots that don't lean into a curve and try to "drive" the scoot like it's a cage.

Go to school and have some fun! Stay Alive Please! You owe it to your country to help shape the future.

Kp42
10-31-08, 11:47 AM
Good thread Sgt. I totally agree. Actually during boot our Company 1st Sgt stopped all training one day to address this problem. We got a class on safety and all that. Hope Marines make good decisions while on bikes. They went through so much to throw everything away for a little too much speed.

1stRad2671
10-31-08, 02:19 PM