PDA

View Full Version : Another Blast for Sen. Byrd

lurchenstein
05-27-03, 07:30 PM
This letetr is from a recent e-maill. Noticed other posts here, on this subject.

Retired Naval Officers response to that idiot, Senator Byrd.

Senator Byrd,

As a retired Naval Officer, with two Gulf carrier deployments under my belt, find your criticism of President Bush's visit to the Lincoln offensive, in the extreme! This is the first time that a Commander-in-Chief took time out of his busy wartime schedule to pay a visit to thank those who served in the line of fire, in a way that was both dramatic and meaningful to those on the carrier. Perhaps if LBJ got off his fat ass to do something similar, our troops' morale in Vietnam might not have been so low. As a Naval officer, I am extremely sensitive to styles of leadership. That is, after all, our stock in trade. And it was not lost on me that the President spent about thirty seconds shaking hands with the Admiral, CO, and CAG (If you don't know these abbreviations just look them up in your Funk & Wagnalls!). He then spent the next forty-five minutes putting himself at the disposal of the people who make that ship work, the yellow shirts, the green shirts, the purple shirts, the chiefs, the sailors. If you don't know the significance of those colored shirts, look it up in your Blue Jacket's Manual. Not dressed out in formal uniform (I understand at Bush's request), but in their greasy, smelly, sweaty working uniforms... working a flight deck is hot, hard work. And yet he, in his flight suit, put himself at their disposal - this was their moment for 19 or 20 something year old kids, a few years out of high school, to get a picture of themselves with the President of the United States, his arm draped around their shoulder. That is a moment those kids never