PDA

View Full Version : 'Keep your head on a swivel'

thedrifter
10-24-08, 05:00 AM
MARINE CORPS BASE CAMP LEJEUNE, N.C. —The nature of today’s battlefields require every service member to be rifle savvy regardless of their job, age or rank. With insurgents launching ambushes and improvised explosive device attacks on support elements, it’s more important than ever for Marines to remember their warrior ethos.

One particular Marine, a platoon commander from the Infantry Weapons Repair Shop of 2nd Maintenance Battalion, 2nd Marine Logistics Group, is a prime example of 233 years of maintaining a combat mindset on the grounds of war.

In March 2008, Chief Warrant Officer Ronald C. Ivy served as the logistics advisor for the I Marine Expeditionary Force’s (Forward) First Iraqi Army Division Military Transition Team. The native of Yakima, Wash., who is an armorer by trade, exemplified the phrase, “every Marine is a rifleman,” when led a joint Iraqi Army and coalition patrol for nearly 15 kilometers through hostile territory, March 23.

Ivy’s mission was imperative during the operation. He was to conduct a combat resupply to the gates of Basra, Iraq, after days of intense fighting.

“When I pulled up, it was a typical convoy,” Ivy explained. “I had a better part of 15-20 vehicles behind me.”

Ivy was responsible for leading the convoy of coalition and Iraqi Army vehicles to the gates while under persistent sniper, small arms and mortar fire. At the gates awaited the First Iraqi Army Brigade, the MTT team and members of 1st Air Naval Gunfire Liaison Company, who were all low on essential supplies such as food, water and ammunition.