PDA

View Full Version : Contract Job in Iraq

egbutler1
10-20-08, 01:12 AM
I figured I would post this here just to get some feed back from other Marines. I am in the process of re-deploying to Iraq with a security company for 6 months. I will be making about 80k tax free for my time deployed. Which really beats what I made there as a Marine money wise. But I just wanted to know what my fellow Marines thought about taking up a contracting job in Iraq. I think it is honorable but at the same time I don't want to step all over other Marines making pennies compared to me making mass amounts of cash for the same job. Lemme know! SOUND OFF! OOH-RAH!

Cpl. Butler

Allmarine21
10-20-08, 08:05 AM
You should check your contract, according to the IRS, contractors have to do 335 consecutive days in the region to get the tax free break. You can not be out of the environment for more that a 2 week period at any one time. I know this because I have been a contractor in and out of theater since the beginning of the war and my pay is taxable, only because I go in for 2-4 months and home for 2-4 months on a continual basis supporting the Navy-Marine Corps Combat Trauma Registry program. My work directly relates to the advancement of the body armor, vehicle up armoring and most of all the surgical procedures documented to enhance the care provided to the service members.

Gunny

yellowwing
10-20-08, 08:07 AM
Altruistically, you've done your time, Bro. If you can get $80k go for it.

OB MSG
10-20-08, 08:27 AM
Just make sure your health insurance is paid up and they will cover you. The contract jobs that I've heard of make you get your own.

Other than that, be careful, earn what you can and make it home in one piece!

Osotogary
10-20-08, 09:03 AM
egbutler1-