PDA

View Full Version : Getting out soon

afelle27
10-17-08, 10:38 AM
My EAS is this January, and I still haven't found a suitable job I would like to transition into. I'm an Admin Clerk by trade, but I'm also a machine-gunner as a secondary MOS. I don't know how much that will help my employment chances, but I'm putting anything/everything on my resume. I know it's really last minute, but I need whatever help I can get. Any ideas?

2ndCEBSupply
10-17-08, 10:54 AM
You were admin and you were a machine gunner Hmm

Maybe you should work at the post office

Just dont put on your resume that your a machine gunner you dont want them to think your going to go postal.

You have a 90 day window for quick employment with them if you miss that then theres a year or longer wait.

Pay is $17 to $24 dollars an hour

OB MSG
10-17-08, 10:55 AM
Before you get out you will go through a TAP course. This will help you write a resume, have you meet with potential employers and basically give you a ton of info to help to move smoothly into the Civ Div.

Question though, do you have a degree or do you plan to go to college/trade school?

2ndCEBSupply
10-17-08, 11:13 AM
Question though, do you have a degree or do you plan to go to college/trade school?

Hes on the right track!

Ive been in and out of school since i got back, now im in till i finish now.

The new GI Bill is going to be your best friend.

Pete0331
10-17-08, 11:21 AM
My EAS is this January, and I still haven't found a suitable job I would like to transition into. I'm an Admin Clerk by trade, but I'm also a machine-gunner as a secondary MOS. I don't know how much that will help my employment chances, but I'm putting anything/everything on my resume. I know it's really last minute, but I need whatever help I can get. Any ideas?

Everything you have questions about will be answered at the TAP classes.

2ndCEBSupply
10-17-08, 11:28 AM
Yeah thats true TAPS will give you everything u need to knnow.