PDA

View Full Version : Home Loan Guaranty for Reserve Service

jlewin
10-09-08, 07:09 AM
Hello

I apologize if this question belongs in the Poolee Hall since I am not yet a Marine, but my wife has a question that my recruiter is having trouble answering. He told my wife that after 6 months of part time service in the USMC Reserve that we would be eligible to use the VA benefit for a home loan guaranty certificate. I am not an expert but the information that I read from the VA website seems to say that is only for Active Marines. Since this is a benefit of big importance to her I would like to try to get a solid answer on when as a Reserve Servicemember we would be eligible for that benefit. She is being much more supportive than I expected her to be while we are considering this decision, so I really want to get this answer for her. Thank you.

FLRULZURSHPSCKS
10-09-08, 01:35 PM
I googled it and got this http://www.homeloans.va.gov/eligibility.htm if that doesn't help find a number and call. You usually get better answers talking to someone. Just ask them about "part time Marines" getting the loan.

thewookie
10-09-08, 02:13 PM
Hello

I apologize if this question belongs in the Poolee Hall since I am not yet a Marine, but my wife has a question that my recruiter is having trouble answering. He told my wife that after 6 months of part time service in the USMC Reserve that we would be eligible to use the VA benefit for a home loan guaranty certificate. I am not an expert but the information that I read from the VA website seems to say that is only for Active Marines. Since this is a benefit of big importance to her I would like to try to get a solid answer on when as a Reserve Servicemember we would be eligible for that benefit. She is being much more supportive than I expected her to be while we are considering this decision, so I really want to get this answer for her. Thank you.